Just a reminder that there are reserved DNS domain names and reserved IP addresses for documentation purposes. These are detailed in RFC2606 and RFC5737 respectively.

The reserved DNS top level domain (TLD) names are:

  • .test
  • .example
  • .invalid
  • .localhost

.test is reserved and recommended for testing purposes within organisations. .example is reserved for use within documentation which requires example DNS names. .invalid should not be configured within resolvers and can be used when invalid DNS names are required for testing purposes. .localhost is traditionally been defined with an A record pointing at the locahost IP address of

There are reserved second level domain names for documentation purposes of

  • example.com
  • example.net
  • example.org

The following three address ranges have been reserved for use within documentation where example IP addresses are required:

  • (TEST-NET-1)
  • (TEST-NET-2)
  • (TEST-NET-3)


Leave a reply

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>